ATLANTA (AP) - The Obama administration has approved a federal disaster declaration for 27 Georgia counties hit by severe weather in late March and early April.

Gov. Sonny Perdue said tornadoes, winds, hail, severe
thunderstorms, flash and flooding resulted in widespread
residential, commercial and infrastructure damage across South

The counties eligible to receive assistance are: Appling,
Atkinson, Bacon, Baker, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brantley, Brooks,
Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Echols, Grady, Lanier, Lowndes, Miller, Mitchell, Montgomery, Pierce, Tift,
Toombs, Ware, Wheeler and Worth.

Perdue requested the federal disaster declaration April 10. The
designation makes the counties eligible for federal aid.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 43640837 -
Gray Television, Inc.