FORT BENNING, Ga. (AP) - Three Fort Benning soldiers have been awarded medals of valor for their action in Afghanistan.

The honors on Monday were for action in the Battle of Wanat on
July 13, 2008. Silver stars went to Capt. Matthew E. Myer and Sgt.
Michael T. Denton.

A bronze star with a V device was awarded to Sgt. 1st Class David L. Dzwik.

The three were members of Chosen Company, 2nd Battalion, 173rd Airborne Brigade Combat Team .

During the enemy attack on Vehicle Patrol Base Wanat in Kunar Province, which claimed the lives of nine of their soldiers, including Cpl. Jonathan R. Ayers who also earned a Silver Star.

Ayers' family accepted his medal Sunday at a separate ceremony in Snellville.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by John Location: Dothan on Mar 31, 2009 at 09:04 AM
    The medal you are showing is the Congressional Medal of Honor not to be mistaken with the Bronze Star with letter "V" (Valor) device on the Ribbon.
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 42192917 -
Gray Television, Inc.