Ga. Counties Get Help with Storm-damaged Crops

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has declared 22 Georgia counties disaster areas because of severe storms that hit the state in August.

Governor Sonny Perdue made the announcement Wednesday.

He submitted the request to the federal government two months ago after the remnants of Tropical Storm Fay battered the state August 26th.

The governor says the storm hurt crops of peanuts, cotton and corn across Georgia.

The federal disaster declaration means farmers can get low-interest loans to make up for the damage.

The counties are: Baker, Berrien, Brantley, Brooks, Charlton,
Clinch, Colquitt, Decatur, EARLY, Echols, Grady, Lanier, Lee,
Lowndes, Miller, Mitchell, Pierce, Randolph, SEMINOLE, Thomas, Ware
and White.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 34039814 -
Gray Television, Inc.