President Exempts 10 States from No Child Left Behind Law

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

WASHINGTON (AP) -- President Barack Obama says his decision to free 10 states from the No Child Left Behind education law will give the flexibility they need to set high standards for students and hold schools accountable.

Obama spoke Thursday at the White House. He says he's giving 10 states waivers from the strict and sweeping requirements. The states are getting leeway in exchange for promises to improve the way schools teach and evaluate students.

The president says states need to ensure that "every student should have the same opportunity to reach their potential."

Obama says he's acting because Congress failed to update the law, despite widespread agreement it needs to be fixed.

The 10 states are Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oklahoma and Tennessee.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 139067604 -
Gray Television, Inc.