3 astronauts inducted into hall of fame in Florida

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla. (AP) - Three more shuttle astronauts have
been inducted into the U.S. Astronauts Hall of Fame in Cape

George Nelson, William Shepherd and James Wetherbee were
inducted Saturday.

The total number of astronauts in the hall of fame is now 73.

It's the eighth group of shuttle astronauts to be inducted.

Earlier inductees represented the Mercury, Gemini, Apollo, Skylab
and Apollo-Soyuz programs.

Nelson was on the first spacewalking team to repair a satellite
in-orbit. He flew three shuttle missions.

Shepherd commanded the first mission to the International Space Station and has been award the Congressional Medal of Honor.

Wetherbee commanded five of the six space shuttle missions he flew from 1984 through 2003.

WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 44289147 - wtvy.com/a?a=44289147
Gray Television, Inc.