11 FL Counties Declared Disaster Areas

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

WASHINGTON (AP) -- President Obama has declared 11 Florida counties a disaster area for damage sustained during Tropical Storm Isaac.

The declaration signed Thursday makes federal funding available to state and local governments.

Isaac hit Florida in late August. The Federal Emergency Management Agency denied Gov. Rick Scott's request for funding in September.

Scott moved to appeal the decision. He said the damage was about $10 million worse than originally thought. Damage from Isaac is estimated at 36.6 million.

It was unclear why the decision was reversed.

The following counties are now eligible for federal funding: Bay, Collier, Escambia, Franklin, Martin, Monroe, Okaloosa, Palm Beach, St. Lucie and Santa Rose counties.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 174951551 - wtvy.com/a?a=174951551
Gray Television, Inc.