WTVY  | Dothan, AL  | News, Weather, Sports

Wiregrass Area Under Heat Advisory from 1pm Central to 6pm Central Today

A combination of heat and humidity could create dangerously hot conditions today across the wiregrass.

The National Weather Service office in Tallahassee, Florida has placed much of the Wiregrass under a Heat Advisory. This advisory begins at 1pm Central (2pm Eastern) and lasts until 6pm Central (7pm Eastern).

Some of the communities in the advisory include: Enterprise, Ozark, Fort Rucker, Dothan, Daleville, Headland, Abbeville, Geneva, Hartford, Samson, Slocomb, Malvern, Taylor, Ashford, Dothan, Kinsey, Cowarts, Webb, Cottonwood, Rehobeth, Georgetown, Fort Gaines, Cuthbert, Shellman, Arlington, Midland City, Blaklely, Douglasville and surrounding areas.

Forecasters are predicting maximum air temperatures between 96 and 99 degrees. Heat indices, a projection of how meteorological factors make it feel, could reach as high as 110 degrees. The heat index reflects how it feels in the shade, so it is possible it could feel even hotter in direct sunlight.

If you are outdoors, drink plenty of fluids. Stay out of the sun and in an air-conditioned structure if possible. Be sure to also monitor relatives, pets, and sensitive plants.

Stay tuned to WTVY and WTVY.com for further weather developments.


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 163660996 - wtvy.com/a?a=163660996