Five Ala. Schools Named 'Blue Ribbon Schools'

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) -- State and federal education officials are recognizing five Alabama schools which have been designated Blue Ribbon Schools this year.

Officials say the schools earned the distinction based on their overall academic excellence or for making progress in improving student academic achievement levels.

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan recognized 269 schools nationwide as 2012 Blue Ribbon Schools.

The Alabama schools honored are Daphne High School in Baldwin County; Forest Hills School in Florence City; Liberty Middle School in Madison City; Piedmont High School in Piedmont City; and Spencer Elementary School in Mobile County.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 168946596 -
Gray Television, Inc.