Disaster Declaration Issues for All Alabama Counties

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - All 67 Alabama counties have been declared areas of primary natural disaster by the federal government because of drought and excessive heat that has damaged crops in the state since March 1.

Alabama Agriculture Commissioner Ron Sparks said the declaration was made by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

The declaration makes farmers in all counties eligible to apply for assistance from the Farm Service Agency.

Sparks said Assistance available include emergency loans and payments from the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program.

Farmers have eight months to apply for assistance.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 112281944 - wtvy.com/a?a=112281944
Gray Television, Inc.