By: AP
By: AP

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - All 67 Alabama counties have been
declared areas of primary natural disaster by the federal government because of drought and excessive heat that has damaged crops in the state since March 1.

Alabama Agriculture Commissioner Ron Sparks said the declaration
was made by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

The declaration makes farmers in all counties eligible to apply for assistance from the Farm Service Agency.

Sparks said Assistance available include emergency loans and
payments from the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program.

Farmers have eight months to apply for assistance.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 112276824 -
Gray Television, Inc.