Disaster Declared for 50 AL Counties

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press
More Video...

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) -- A natural disaster declaration has been issued for 50 Alabama counties by the U.S. Department of Agriculture because of damage caused by excessive rains and floods this year.

The declaration Thursday makes farmers in those counties eligible to be considered for benefits from the USDA.

The declaration came after Alabama Gov. Robert Bentley wrote a letter to U.S Agriculture Secretary Thomas Vilsack requesting assistance for farmers in counties hit hard by rain.

Counties covered by the disaster declaration include Barbour, Covington, Dale, Geneva, Henry, Houston and Pike in southeast Alabama.
Alabama Agriculture Commissioner John McMillan says 2013 has been one of the wettest years ever. This year, farmers in some areas boasted of record crops because of heavy rain and cool temperatures while others had damages.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 224573641 - wtvy.com/a?a=224573641
Gray Television, Inc.