Alabama Reps. Vote 6-1 Against Fiscal Cliff Bill

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) -- All six Republicans in Alabama's House delegation voted against legislation to avoid the fiscal cliff, while the state's lone Democrat voted for it.

Republican U.S. Reps. Jo Bonner, Martha Roby, Mike Rogers, Robert Aderholt, Spencer Bachus and Mo Brooks cast no votes, and Democratic Rep. Terri Sewell voted yes on the legislation that passed 257-167 Tuesday.

Roby said raising taxes without cutting spending goes against her core beliefs. Brooks said it was wrong to rush monumental legislation through Congress without time for the American people to review it. Sewell said the bill wasn't perfect, but it extended long-term unemployment benefits and tax cuts for the middle class.

The measure passed the Senate 89-8 earlier Tuesday, with Republican Sen. Richard Shelby voting no and Republican Sen. Jeff Sessions voting yes.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 185459072 -
Gray Television, Inc.