Alabama state troopers get on the road to new career

By: Press Release
By: Press Release

MONTGOMERY — Graduation ceremonies were held Friday, July 10, in Montgomery for Alabama State Trooper Class 2009-A.

Department of Public Safety Director Col. J. Christopher Murphy administered the oath of office to commission the 38 new troopers, and former Alabama Gov. John Patterson served as guest speaker at the graduation.

Murphy congratulated the class for its hard work and commitment in completing an arduous, 22-week training regimen at the Alabama Criminal Justice Training Center, DPS’s training academy in Selma. He commended class members for choosing a career in law enforcement and public service, terming it a “high calling,” and he wished the new troopers every success in their initial duty assignments in the Highway Patrol Division.

During the graduation ceremony, three class members were recognized among their peers for outstanding achievement. Juddston Bowers received the Marksmanship Award for exhibiting the highest level of knowledge, skill and safety in firearms training. Bowers also earned the Academic Award for achieving the highest overall grade point average. Robert C. Green received the Highway Response and Driving Award for demonstrating a high level of knowledge and ability in defensive and pursuit driving. The Fitness Award went to Randy D. McBrayer for attaining the highest level of physical fitness.

McBrayer also was selected as the class’s top performer overall, receiving the Commander’s Award for exhibiting exceptional leadership, professionalism and dedication to Class 2009-A and the Department of Public Safety, while maintaining a high academic average.

A roster of the members of Class 2009-A, along with their post and county assignments, follows:

Name, Post, County

Andrew J. Alexander, Jacksonville, Talladega

Kevin J. Bell, Selma, Marengo

Joshua R. Boody, Tuscaloosa, Tuscaloosa

Juddston Bowers, Mobile, Mobile

Raymond L. Brothers, Montgomery, Montgomery

Jeff A. Brown, Mobile, Baldwin

Jayson D. Coon, Grove Hill, Choctaw

Gregory E. Corble, Selma, Perry

Gary C. Daniel, Birmingham, Blount

Brian W. English, Alexander City, Coosa

Robert C. Green, Dothan, Houston

Robert W. Hale, Jacksonville, Calhoun

Terry J. Head, Montgomery, Montgomery

Daniel J. Jackson, Opelika, Lee

Jason H. Johnson, Jacksonville, Talladega

David E. Jones, Opelika, Lee

Jeremy D. Lay, Quad-Cities, Franklin

Charles M. Lewis, Hamilton, Lamar

Keith J. Marbut, Decatur, Cullman

Randy D. McBrayer, Jacksonville, Calhoun

Denise McCain, Opelika, Lee

Jason P. McCallister, Dothan, Bullock

Samuel H. McHenry, Evergreen, Crenshaw

Thomas C. Nalls, Jacksonville, Talladega

John C. Odom, Jacksonville, Calhoun

Richard L. Oliver, Jacksonville, Clay

Anthony B. Peebles, Decatur, Cullman

Robert J. Ping, Tuscaloosa, Tuscaloosa

Kevin J. Price, Birmingham, Blount

Phillip M. Schuler, Mobile, Mobile

Scott R. Sherrer, Mobile, Mobile

Jacob R. Smith, Jacksonville, Calhoun

Brad D. Taylor, Mobile, Baldwin

Kenneth K. Wade, Mobile, Baldwin

Gary W. Wells, Birmingham, Blount

Jason A. White, Quad-Cities, Franklin

Steven A. Wilson, Hamilton, Winston

Larry Young, Tuscaloosa, Tuscaloosa

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 50490572 -
Gray Television, Inc.