MONTGOMERY – Governor Bob Riley on Friday asked President Obama to declare a major disaster area for 20 counties in Alabama that received damage from wind, rain and flooding recently.

Between March 30 and April 3, the 20 counties suffered an estimated $26 million in damage to roads, bridges and public buildings, the Governor said.

In addition, 572 homes were affected by the severe storms in Covington, Geneva and Houston counties.

In addition to those three counties, Governor Riley’s disaster request covers Baldwin, Bullock, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Coffee, Crenshaw, Dale, Dallas, Elmore, Henry, Lamar, Marengo, Perry, Russell, Washington and Wilcox counties.

“Many Alabamians in these counties have suffered a lot. After a review by federal, state and local emergency responders estimated the extent of the damage, I’ve asked President Obama for federal assistance that will help our citizens and communities recover and rebuild,” said Governor Riley.

The Governor’s request covers both Public Assistance and Individual Assistance.

Through Public Assistance, FEMA would cover 75 percent of the cost for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair, replacement or restoration of publicly owned facilities such as roads and bridges that were damaged.

Individual Assistance provides federal help for citizens whose property has been damaged or destroyed and whose losses are not covered by insurance.

Individual Assistance can also include unemployment assistance and crisis counseling.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 42826057 -
Gray Television, Inc.