Gov. requests disaster declaration for 20 counties

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - Gov. Bob Riley has asked President Barack Obama to declare a major disaster area for 20 Alabama counties that received damage from recent heavy rain, winds and flooding.

Riley said Friday the 20 counties in mostly south and central Alabama suffered an estimated $26 million in damage to roads, bridges and public buildings in storms that hit the state from March 30 to April 3.

Riley said he is asking Obama to provide financial assistance.

Counties listed in the declaration include: Baldwin, Bullock, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Dallas, Elmore, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Lamar, Marengo, Perry, Russell, Washington and Wilcox.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 42822782 -
Gray Television, Inc.