Incumbent Mayors Ousted in Several Alabama Cities

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - Voters in dozens of municipalities apparently want new faces running city hall.

It was evident in Tuesday's vote in Jefferson County where seven incumbent mayors were ousted. New leaders were elected in Argo, Brighton, Clay, Leeds, Lipscomb, West Jefferson and Homewood.

In Selma, City Council President George Evans beat incumbent James Perkins in an upset.

Longtime Tuskegee Mayor Johnny will face Omar Neal in a runoff.

Another runoff will pit Huntsville Mayor Loretta Spencer against challenger Bill Battle. Meanwhile, voters in Florence re-elected Bobby Irons to serve a second four-year term.

In south Alabama, former city councilman Tony Kennon defeated two opponents to win the mayor's post in Orange Beach. And by a narrow margin, Stan Wright was re-elected to a third term as mayor of Bayou La Batre.

Runoff elections will be held Oct. 7.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 27535439 -
Gray Television, Inc.