14 Alabama trails get national designation

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

Fourteen Alabama trails have received the designation of national recreation trails.

Interior Secretary Ken Salazar and National Park Service Director Jonathan Jarvis announced that 54 trails nationwide had been added to the list, including the 14 in Alabama. There are now 1,200 trails nationwide with the designation. Jarvis said the trails offer citizens the opportunity to bike, hike, paddle and spend time with their family and friends outdoors.

The trails receiving the designation include: Alabama State Lands Bartram Canoe Trail, Blevins Gap Nature Preserve Trail System, Dauphin Island Audubon Bird Sanctuary Trail System, Goose Pond Colony Nature and Walking Trail, Monte Sano Nature Preserve Trail System, Oak Mountain Red Trail, Scottsboro City Park Walking Trail, Sokol Park Mountain Bike Trail System, and Wade Mountain Nature Preserve Trail System.

There are also five trails from the Forever Wild program getting the designation: Coon Creek. Freedom Hills, Shoal Creek Preserve, Walls of Jericho, and Wehle.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 156227155 - wtvy.com/a?a=156227155
Gray Television, Inc.