Star Trek: Deep Space Nine Celebrates 20th Anniversary of Series Premiere

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine
By  | 

Originally Aired / Published: January 3rd, 2013

The third live-action “Star Trek” series premiered on this date in 1993, and was the first such series not set on a starship named “Enterprise.”

With the success of “Star Trek: The Next Generation,” another “Star Trek” spin-off was planned. Instead of being placed on a starship like the previous series and movies, this would be set aboard a space station with an all new cast and crew.

This became “Star Trek: Deep Space Nine,” which premiered 20 years ago on January 3rd, 1993. Like “The Next Generation,” this was a syndicated series that aired on a variety of affiliate networks.

The series starred Avery Brooks as Commander (later Captain) Benjamin Sisko and also included such talent as Rene Auberjonois, Nana Visitor and Terry Farrell. Colm Meaney, who played the recurring character Chief Miles O’Brien on “The Next Generation” was brought over as a regular.

Some Star Trek fans praise “Deep Space Nine” for its darker tone and arc-based storytelling, while others disliked the grimmer take on the typically sanguine “Star Trek” universe and felt it continued its war-based storyline from later seasons too long. Other Trekkers and Trekkies were simply glad to have a new series in their franchise.

“Deep Space Nine” lasted seven seasons, and was followed by “Star Trek: Voyager,” and later “Star Trek: Enterprise.” The complete series has been released on DVD, and is currently available on various streaming services such as Netflix and Amazon Instant Video.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus