AL Ag Office Honored With Award For Best Brief to U.S. Supreme Court

MGN Online

(MONTGOMERY)— The National Association of Attorneys General has honored the Office of Attorney General Luther Strange with its Best Brief Award. The award is presented to recognize excellence in brief writing by state attorneys to the United States Supreme Court, and is judged by a panel of leading members of the Supreme Court Bar.

The brief was in the case of Lane v. Franks and was written by Solicitor General Andrew L. Brasher along with Assistant Solicitor General Megan A. Kirkpatrick. In this case, Attorney General Strange personally argued to the U.S. Supreme Court for the First Amendment protection of public employees who act as whistleblowers and testify to expose public corruption.

“I am proud of the outstanding work performed by Andrew Brasher and Megan Kirkpatrick on behalf of the State of Alabama,” said Attorney General Strange. “The Office of Attorney General is honored by the continuing national recognition of superior legal performances by our attorneys.”

The Alabama Attorney General’s Office has a long history of success with the NAAG Best Brief award. In 2002, former Attorney General (and current Federal Judge) William H. Pryor created the position of Alabama Solicitor General to focus on the office’s work in the U.S.

Supreme Court. Over the 10 years since then, the office has won 11 Best Brief awards. Previous Solicitors General on those briefs were Birmingham attorney John Neiman (two), Special Deputy Attorney General Corey Maze (three), Birmingham attorney Kevin Newsom (four), and current U.S. Department of Justice official Nate Forrester (one).

This year’s best brief awards were announced yesterday at the Summer Meeting of the National Association of Attorneys General and will be presented at the Solicitor General seminar in July.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus