Taxpayers in 7 Counties Have Extra Two Weeks

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (AP) - Taxpayers in seven Alabama counties have
an extra two weeks to file their tax returns.

Jefferson, Coffee, Dale, Dallas, Henry, Montgomery and Wilcox counties were declared disaster areas after severe storms hit March

The IRS and the Alabama Department of Revenue extended the tax deadline to April 30th for those counties.

There was a mix-up when operators of the IRS hot line, who hadn't received word of the change, told callers Monday not all residents in those counties qualify for an extension.

Businesses and nonresidents whose records are in those counties,
or whose tax preparer's offices are in those counties, can also take advantage of the automatic extension.

Most residents of other counties must mail their returns before midnight Tuesday night. The regular tax deadline of April 15th had already been extended two days because it fell on a Sunday and Monday was Emancipation Day, a legal holiday in the District of Columbia.

On the Net: IRS,,,id168483,00.html

(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus