ADEM Still Restricting 12 Counties in Burning Ban

By  | 

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - The Alabama Department of Environmental
Management is reminding Alabamians that there's still an open burning ban in place for 12 counties.

The ban is effective from May through October and includes Baldwin, DeKalb, Etowah, Jefferson, Lawrence, Madison, Mobile, Montgomery, Morgan, Russell, Shelby and Talladega counties.

ADEM Director Trey Glenn said the ban is a useful tool to help maintain clean air in the state.

The agency issues the restriction each year for the warmer months to combat the formation of ground-level ozone and the generation of fine particulate matter.

It prohibits the open burning of wood, tree trimmings, brush and debris generated by maintaining or clearing land, and construction or demolition.

Officials recommend composting yard waste and using leaves and grass clippings for mulch instead of open burning.

They also suggest recycling plastics, cardboard, paper and metals along with donating reusable items to charitable organizations, families, or friends instead of burning them.

(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus