Seven Alabama Legislators Decline Pay Raise

By  | 

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - Seven legislators - all Republicans -
have declined the 61 percent pay raise the Legislature gave itself.

Republican Representative Paul DeMarco of Homewood and Republican
Senators Larry Dixon of Montgomery, Hank Erwin of Montevallo, Ben
Brooks of Mobile, Bradley Byrne of Fairhope, Del Marsh of Anniston
and Harri Anne Smith of Slocomb have filed paperwork to reject the
pay raise.

The remaining 133 legislators are accepting the annual pay of
more than 49-thousand dollars annually.

But some of them are giving it to charitable groups. House Minority Leader Mike Hubbard says he'd rather give the money to his church and to Auburn University than to leave it in the state treasury for the Democrat-controlled Legislature to spend.

(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus