Auburn Trustees

auburn university samford hall
By  | 

The Auburn University trustee selection committee yesterday re-nominated the same three trustees it did last year.

The three, state Revenue Commissioner Dwight Carlisle of Alexander City, Gadsden city planner Charles Ball, and Fayette elementary school principal Sarah Newton -- didn't get approved by the state Senate last year.

The governor, who is chairman of the five-member selection committee, predicts that this year will be different. Another committee member, Auburn trustee Bobby Lowder, also rates their chances of approval as excellent. The three will go before the Senate in the legislative session starting February third.

They would replace three trustees whose terms have expired, Lowell Barron of Fyffe, Charles Glover of Vinemont, and Jack Venable of Tallassee.