There has been a 32 percent drop in traffic deaths in which a 16-year-old was the cause of the crash since the state passed a graduated driver license law four years ago.
According to Alabama Traffic Crash Facts at the University of Alabama, the number of 16-year-old drivers killed dropped from 28
in 2002 to 19 in 2005.
The state law, passed in 2002, prohibits 16-year-olds from driving between midnight and 6 a-m. Teens driving to and from school, work or church are exempt from the curfew.
They also can't drive with more than four people in the car, excluding a parent or legal guardian. Seventeen-year-olds have the same restrictions if they have less than six months driving experience.
The restrictions are extended for teens convicted of certain traffic violations, including racing and reckless driving.
Alabama is among 47 states and the District of Columbia with
graduated license laws.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or email@example.com.