Associated Press Awards

WTVY anchors and reporters were among dozens of Alabama news broadcasters honored this weekend at the Annual Associated Press Awards in Mobile.

On the AAA television division, WTVY News 4's Noon and 5 p.m. anchor Laura McNeill received Best News Anchor and Best Specialized Reporter for her stories at Fort Rucker.

Mike Gurspan was honored as Best Reporter.

Sports Director Brad Sherwood took home Best Sports Story. The WTVY Sports Department was also awarded Best Sports Program for Friday Night Football.

Television and radio news personalities from Birmingham, Mobile, Tuscaloosa and Montgomery were also in attendance.

The Alabama AP awards banquet was held at the Adams Mark Hotel. Next year's event is planned for March in Orange Beach.