New Coins

By  | 

New dollar coins featuring all 37 of the nation's dead presidents will start rolling out of the U-S Mint in 2007.

President Bush signed the bill into law Friday.

The front of the new coins will depict former presidents, but not those who are living or have been dead for less than two years. The backs of the coins will show the Statue of Liberty. Four coins a year will be issued, in the presidents' order of service.

Congress hopes the coins will be a big money raiser for the government -- like the 50-state quarter program. There'll be an accompanying ten dollar gold piece for collectors, featuring former
first ladies. Lawmakers also hope the new coins will spur interest
in the Sacagawea dollars, which have been little-used.