Florida's minimum wage will increase 25 cents an hour in 2006 to six dollars and 40 cents.
The state's minimum wage went up to six-15 an hour in May because of a constitutional amendment approved by voters in 2004. The Florida Agency for Workforce Innovation says the amendment tied the state's minimum wage to inflation, requiring an adjustment each year. The six-forty rate will start January first.
For workers whose tips are counted as part of their wage, the minimum will go from the current three-13 an hour to three-38 starting January first, plus the worker's tips.
Almost 400-thousand workers of the state's over eight (m) million-person work force earn the minimum wage.
On the Net: Agency for Workforce Innovation:
|10:00pm||WTVY News 4 at Ten|
|9:00pm||Law & Order: SVU|
|7:00pm||The Carrie Diaries|
|9:30pm||Primetime News at 9|