AL--Academy of Honor

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - A renowned Birmingham chef, three businessmen and a former congressman are the newest members of the
Alabama Academy of Honor.

The five new members were inducted Monday into the Academy of Honor. Membership in the academy is limited by law to 100 people whose accomplishments and service have greatly benefited the state.

The new members include Angus R. Cooper II, CEO of Cooper/T. Smith Corp. in Mobile; Donald M. James, CEO of Vulcan Materials Corp.; James Martin of Gadsden, former congressman and former commissioner of the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources; Alabama Power Co. President Charles McCrary, and Birmingham chef, restaurant owner and cookbook author Frank Stitt III.

The five new members were inducted in a ceremony in the old House chamber at the Alabama Capitol.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTVY-TV 285 N Foster Street Dothan, AL 36303 334-792-3195
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 64854967 -
Gray Television, Inc.