Tue Sep 16 20:49:17 PDT 2014
News · Weather


UPDATE: Troy University Congratulates Alumnus Bennie Adkins on Medal of Honor
CNN, Associated Press

TROY - A Troy University alumnus, retired Command Sgt. Maj. Bennie G. Adkins, received the Medal of Honor from President Obama today during a ceremony at the White House. Troy University leaders said that Adkins, who holds three degrees from TROY, is an outstanding example of courage and dedication. “It is often said that freedom is not free. Command Sergeant Major Bennie Adkins proved the validity of this statement by demonstrating great courage under fire,” said Troy University Chancellor Dr. Jack Hawkins, Jr. “He is a credit to his nation’s military, a credit to Alabama and a credit to Troy University. We are very proud of his heroic and courageous action under devastating circumstances, and we are very proud that he is a Troy University Trojan.” Adkins, a U.S. Army veteran, served three tours in Vietnam. He was recognized for his actions during 38 hours of close-combat fighting against enemy forces on March 9 to 12, 1966. At that time, then-Sergeant First Class Adkins was serving as an Intelligence Sergeant with Detachment A-102, 5th Special Forces Group, 1st Special Forces at Camp "A Shau", in the Republic of Vietnam. “Command Sergeant Major Adkins’ courage and commitment to excellence have won him our country’s highest military honor, and we are immensely proud of this outstanding Troy University alumnus, who exemplifies our strong ties to our armed forces and veterans,” said Maj. Gen. Walter D. Givhan, USAF Retired, and TROY’s Senior Vice Chancellor for Advancement and Economic Development. “He epitomizes the qualities of a true Trojan Warrior.” Adkins earned his bachelor's degree from then-Troy State University Montgomery, in 1979. He earned his Master's Degree in Education, in 1982, and then, a second Master's Degree in Management, in 1988, all from TSUM. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- UPDATE 1:36 PM WASHINGTON (AP) -- President Barack Obama says a grateful nation honors the acts of valor by two Vietnam War soldiers who risked their lives to protect fellow troops. Obama is bestowing the Medal of Honor on Army Command Sgt. Maj. Bennie G. Adkins and Army Spc. Donald P. Sloat, nearly half a century after they fought in Vietnam. Adkins ran through enemy fire while rescuing injured comrades. He was injured but survived. Sloat did not. He pulled an enemy grenade close to his body to protect fellow troops from the blast. Congress granted an exemption to allow the soldiers to receive the medal so many years later. Obama says even the most extraordinary acts on the battlefield can get lost in the fog of war or the passage of time. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ President Obama is awarding the Medal of Honor to three people Monday, including an Alabama veteran. Army Command Sergeant Major Bennie Adkins will be recognized for his courage as an intelligence officer during the Vietnam War. He survived three days at a prison camp, survived 18 battle wounds and received the Purple Heart. First Lieutenant Alonzo Cushing is being awarded the medal posthumously for his service during the Civil War's Battle of Gettysburg. Cushing's unit was nearly wiped out and Cushing was killed while he continued to command his troops buying time for union soldiers. Donald Sloat is also receiving a posthumous medal of honor for his service in the Vietnam War. Sloat threw himself on a grenade to save fellow troops.

News · Weather
Copyright © 2014 Gray MidAmerica TV Interactive Media, LLC.